Artworks Committee

Last updated: 14 May 2021

The Artworks Committee decides on artwork donation proposals, and oversees the curation, conservation and other matters pertaining to the CCAC. The Committee is chaired by a judge of the Constitutional Court and includes another judge of the Court, also including four external experts who generously volunteer their time. The Justices ensure that the CCAC aligns with the Constitution and the work of the Court, whilst the external members bring visual arts expertise to the Committee.

Current Committee members:

  • Justice Sisi Khampepe (Chair)
  • Justice Nonkosi Mhlantla
  • Stacey Vorster
  • Melissa Goba
  • Tshegofatso Mabaso
  • Tiffany de Waynecourt-Steele
  • Catherine Kennedy (Constitutional Court Trust manager)

Emeritus members

A member emeritus is nominated and elected by the Artworks Committee in recognition of having served the Committee with distinction as a current or former member of the Committee who has served for at least eight years and made significant contributions through volunteer or advocacy activities.

  • Former Justice Edwin Cameron
  • Former Justice Albie Sachs
  • Karel Nel
  • Carol Steinberg
  • Janina Masojada

Assistant curators Francois Lion-Cachet and Thina Miya report and present to the Committee.

Imageedit 1 3615176332

The CCAC is owned, managed and cared for by the Constitutional Court Trust